Community Engagement Awards

Community Engagement Awards

VIP/ Awards ReceptionOutstanding Alumni AwardHonorary Alumnus Award Ascendant Award

The Leadership Austin Board of Directors is excited to announce three noteworthy Austinites who we will honor in 2018 for their contributions to the Austin community. Simone Talma Flowers, Dr. Clay Johnston, and Llyas Salahud-Din were selected based on their continued commitment to the core values of Leadership Austin: community trusteeship, inclusiveness, collaborative decision-making and personal responsibility.

“Simone, Clay and Llyas reflect the core values of our organization as beacons of thoughtful collaborative leadership in championing voices from all parts of our community,” said Toya Cirica Bell, Board Chair of Leadership Austin. “The Board is thrilled to honor these exceptional community leaders for their service and the difference they are making throughout our city and the Central Texas region.”

Simone Talma Flowers, Essential 1997 Alumni, will be presented with the Outstanding Alumni Award for her embodiment of Leadership Austin values through her service as Executive Director of Interfaith Action of Central Texas (iACT).

Dean Johnston, of the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin, will receive the Honorary Alumnus Award, for his groundbreaking vision and leadership in driving our new medical school and transforming healthcare education.

Llyas Salahud-Din will receive the Ascendant Award, as a recent Essential 2013 graduate, for his inclusive approach to raising voices of those with lived experiences through his work at LifeWorks and other community engagement efforts.